Parents Silly question but I'm new and clueless

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Mileyfiveandfabulous

Proud Parent
We are very new so I'm still learning the process of moving up. My DD started 3 months ago but as I posted before was put on the young pre-team off the bat because she came in with advanced tumbling skills. I talked to the person who runs the gym about where she thought my DD would be, if she thought shed be ready to compete next year and she said my daughter will be fast tracking and going into prob level 3 as soon as this competition season is over in Jan/Feb. My question is what is fast tracking? I'm really clueless. Haha. Total newbie. :oops:

"Fast tracking" is moving through the JO levels at an accelerated pace...although if you're daughter is just a Level 3, i would wonder what they are doing...if she's got "advanced tumbling skills"(which are defined as what?) , could she just start out as a 4 instead of pre team?

Like Bookworm, I read it to be that they are going to move her through faster than they normally do. Like maybe they normally start with level 2; but are bumping her to 3. Or maybe they will even have her do one level in fall and the next in spring.

But I'd guess that the reason for starting with level 3 is that even if a kid has "advanced tumbling skills", if they have never done other gymnastics, getting stuff like the kip might be a little tough. Although, you do have until next fall I'd guess...

How old is she? That can be another factor (too young and she can't compete level 4, too "old" and they want to get them going through faster if they show promise).

She has to do level 3 because she's too young to do level 4.

However, I assume your gym probably generally has an intermediary step between the preteam she's currently on, and level 3, and her coaches have determined she won't need additional time on preteam to prepare.