Parents Starting a gym?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

MabelSt

Proud Parent
I'm seriously thinking about starting a gym as a business. Has anyone ever done this? I have no experience, but I could do all the admin work and hire a good head coach. Do you think its totally unrealistic?

I've just gone through some life transitions and I need something new to do. I have about $40,000 saved right now, not sure if that's enough to get started- equipment is so expensive. I need to make a business plan and see if it's possible.

Owning a gym is incredibly rewarding but it is also incredibly hard work. Be prepared for it to take over every moment of your life. If you are truly passionate about gymnastics then this will be an amazing job, if not then don't go down that road.

You need to think deeply about what your philosophy is as a gym owner. Why do you want to own a gym? What do you want to achieve? What gymsports will be offered? What is the emphasis? Do you want a recreational gym or a highly competitive gym? How do you want your gymnasts trained? What is going to make your gym special and stand out from your competitors? If you are going to hire a head coach you need ones whose goals and beliefs are inline with yours.

What area are you looking to buy into? What sort of other gyms are in the area? Are there a lot of families? Are those families well off enough to afford classes?

$40000 will buy you one sprung floor. You will need to take out a loan to equip a gym.

Lot of incredibly hard work and hours. And you might make enough to support yourself. Good Luck.