WAG State meet question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Dad1234

Proud Parent
Please help me understand the importance of the state meet. Is it just a bigger pool of athletes from across the state. So, instead of say 12 kids to compete against, there are 25-30? If you win at states, then what? It seems that the focus is on states and doing well at states, but I guess I don’t understand why it is such a big deal. This will be my daughter’s first year to go to states so I am a newbie. Thanks!

It depends on the competitiveness of your gym and the level of your DD. Placing is harder, because it is a wider pool of gymnasts and it automatically takes out the few kids at every meet that don’t score well enough to qualify, have injury’s, etc so it only generally has kids with 32+ scores. For the compulsory levels (2-5) it acts as a meet to close the season. If you are an optional, depending on your location, you can qualify to regionals. I would not worry to much about going into states, because as a lower level it is truly just a fun way to conclude the season:)

In theory, I you have a wider pool of athletes, but session awards are still broken down like they are at meets, I think 15ish max per age group. State meet sessions are also by age, so your kiddo won’t necessarily be competing with their full team unless they are all the same age. When DD1 was L3, we traveled 3+ hours for state meet and we were placed with at least 3 teams from a 20 mile radius of our gym in our session. We had been competing with these kids all season, so it definitely wasn’t more of a variety for us. I do not know how your region handles things, but all XCEL levels in our region qualify for regionals via state meet. Only L6-10 can qualify otherwise.

In theory, I you have a wider pool of athletes, but session awards are still broken down like they are at meets, I think 15ish max per age group.