Parents Team Tryouts

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymnastics29

Proud Parent
Hi, I’m new to Chalkbucket! So my daughter (12) has been doing recreational gymnastics for quite a while, and now she has made the decision to tryout for team. The team she is trying out for is JOGA level 6. It’s an optional New Jersey program and is equivalent to usag 4/5. Her friends who did try out have all made it onto the team, and my daughter has most of the skills required (handspring over vault, round off back handspring, front handspring front tuck, front tuck off beam, baby giants, flyaway, just to name a few). We contacted the gym and they are not even going to let her try out. They said that the reason why is because she needs a kip (which all the other girls who made it don’t). I don’t think it is worth it for her to stay in another year of rec just to get one skill. What should I do? Any help would be appreciated!

If you love your gym you could ask about private lessons but personally I would call around to other gyms and see if you can set trials/try-outs up for her other places. It seems like for whatever reason, your gym has decided she isn’t team track-she might be considered too old, too tall, etc. at your current gym where another gym might not have those restrictions.

Sounds like she has a lot of great skills for someone who's only been doing recreational gymnastics. I don't know much about JOGA, but she might be a good candidate for Xcel. Call around and see if you can find a good Xcel program. They are more acceptable to the older gymnasts, and she doesn't need kip until Platinum(?).

Well, if you're going to spend another year to get one skill, the kip would be the skill to get. It's pretty much a gateway to bars. Are you sure it's not required for JOGA 6? It is for JO lvl 4 (2 of them actually - low bar and high bar).