WAG The perfect gym website

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ErinEclectic

Proud Parent
I'm a web designer / developer and one of my pet peeves is inadequate websites. I've noticed that a lot of gyms have subpar websites or are using primarily Shutterfly, DD's included. I offered to take a look at it and make some recommendations to the gym owner about some improvements that could potentially help out the gym as a whole. The owner wasn't interested, but it started me thinking and now I want to build a website that is custom created for the needs of a gym, keeping the owner, front desk person, coaches, team parents, rec parents and gymnasts all in mind.

So, I'm curious, what do you see as desirable/ undesirable for a gym website?

Some features I've considered:
- built on a CMS so it is easy for anyone to update and keep current, without needing to know anything about coding
- an ecommerce aspect that allows parents to pay online, be billed automatically, and possibly check their balance, etc at any time
- search engine optimized so that the gym will be easy to find on google searches
- a backend that parents/girls can log into that allows them to access and subscribe to alerts pertaining to their level/class as well as important forms and schedules
- an easy way for coaches/ front desk / owners / etc to easily send out information to select groups (i.e. level 4s or optionals or any team member)
- easy to access information for the public such as location, maps, contact information, rec class schedules and descriptions, FAQs, staff bios, etc
- possibly a section for higher level girls that are hoping to get scouted, where they can post their videos, images, bios, etc

I know there's a bunch of other stuff I've brainstormed, but I can't think of it right now.