Parents Thinking of trying new gyms..

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Cakequeen

Proud Parent
Hi all,
This is my first post but I've read sooo much on here over the last Few days.
I hope no one minds me posting...I have no gymnastics background except watching on the to :>)
Anyway my 6 yr old BOY is gym mad... 18months ago he started at our local gym... They only have the floor (which isn't sprung) the trampette and the vault..he's competed locally this year for times and is finishing around 13/14th out of 23. Due to his flexibility they focus on his floor and not his vault or trampette.
However he's 'up there' on the floor and can perform 'perfect box splits' (I'm quoting his coach...she's level 3 I believe)?

Anyway he will only ever train 4 hours a week there as that's all they offer their boys in the development program.

I've contact a slightly bigger gym but didn't really like them (hes competed there and it didn't feel right) so I've contacts a much bigger one approx 10miles from me so not too far (he currently goes 4 miles away)

So I guess I'm wondering what I need to be asking or what someone else assessing him would be looking for?
We are due to go to the big gym on Saturday to join n a rec session where he will be assessed?
I'm worried for him although not showing it...

He wants (and I appreciate he's only 6) to do the rings and to win medals.. He was very dissapoind when he didn't win one at his recent comp but we told him as long as he had fun etc.. And that actually he was only 0.16 off of winning the gold for his floor (he was 6th- it was. Dry close!)

Sorry for the rambling...

first off, welcome,

secondly, you might want to change your username to something a little less recognisable, just contact one of the admins (Bogwoppit) to do that.

At six, as he is a boy, our gym would be looking for ability to take instruction, fearlessness and effort, and your commitment to gymnastics.