WAG Tops/Hopes

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

berrisweetness

Coach
Proud Parent
I'm new at this level how do you get started with hopes/tops. Is there a chance of a gymnast being recognized without being in tops or hopes.
How do you deal with a gym when you express interest in those things but they are stuck on competing levels..

I am not sure I understand the question. Do you mean your gym doesn't do TOPs or Hopes and how does the gym get started or how do you get your dd started in the program at your gym? Also not sure what you mean by "stuck on competing levels?" Most gyms that do TOPs also compete levels.

I would think an easier path would be to pick a gym with a TOPs program, if that's your interest. I doubt a gym would start a program just because a parent wanted it... you have to have gymnasts that would want to do it and have the talent.

If your gym doesn't have a HOPES/TOPS program it's possible to start one, of course, but that may not be the goal/focus of the program and coaches/management probably don't want to pursue that path. If they HAVE a program and haven't selected a certain child for it, they probably won't respond well to a parent trying to get their child in it. Gyms look for different things in their HOPES/TOPS girls - skill development, strength, flexibility, form, power, body type, age, etc. Also - the national HOPES/TOPS program has age caps at each level, so if your child is over that age cap, she would be ineligible. The program starts at age 7 so some gyms don't consider kids older than that. Different gyms use the program for different reasons. If you're really bent on H/T, I think it would necessitate finding a gym who wants to put her in their H/T program, if possible.

However, a good gym is a valuable thing - one where the gymnasts have fun, stay safe, and progress in their gymnastics. REGARDLESS of what specific programs it has or doesn't have.