Parents TOPS testing at 9 years old?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ivhose

Proud Parent
Hi I am fairly new to the gymnastics world. My daughter started competitive at age of 8 years. She was mainly a dancer before..her coach (a great one) trained her at level 5 right away...she is now level 6 and doing really well.

We recently moved to another state and her new coach is recommending TOPS testing for her.

I wanted to get some feedback from other parents who have already gone through TOPS. Is it realistic for her to test at this point...she is 9 going onto 10 years in a few months?

There were several girls in our last gym that were testing but they started training and testing at 7 years of age. I was under the assumption that girls had to start early to be competitive.

I have read the online requirements for TOPS testing and from what I understand the level of difficultly increases with age....I am not sure it will be worth her time and effort if it's too steep of a hill to climb?

So I am trying to find out if I should encourage it or discourage it?

What should her goals be (realistically) to test well and qualify?

Thanks.

Wow, it's hard to say... As a TOPs parent, I can tell you it's really intense, and for a 10 year old, if she's training Level 6, the State skills testing is probably do-able but then the National testing is a whole other thing! I can tell you, my DD was a level 5 testing as an 8 year old, and a lot of the other girls testing as 8 year olds at our testing center were Level 7 and 8s! The 10 year olds were level 9s and 10s!

Also, by 10 yrs of age, if they don't have 10 press handstands (max) and 30 sec handstand hold (max), 20 leg lifts (max), 10 nearly perfect cast handstands and the rope climb close to the max score, I think they have very little chance.

At our gym, TOPs training is not extra money, but only a select few girls. At some gyms, it is a LOT of extra money - so you want to find that out as well.