Use of trampoline or tumble track for teaching back hand springs good or bad?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

aerialriver

Coach
Gymnast
I am trying to get other people thoughts on this issue. It has been bothering me for a while. Do you feel it is useful to use a tumble track or trampoline as the first place to learn a back hand spring? I am talking about older kids/teens/adults that do not do any other type of gymnastics, mainly cheer and people who come for privates just to learn a bhs. In other words they are not used to pushing on their arms for skills as if they had come from doing gymnastics.

I am now clueless on what direction I want to take. I have been teaching a cheer tumble class for a couple of years and I notice a trend, these kids have to bhs on hard surfaces, before I even starting coaching them many of them has been in this class for 2 or more years and can do a bhs on the tumble track but not on any other surface, they try and end up doing a back head spring develope fears and it is back to square one.

So my question is what are your thoughts? Do you use a tumble track or just begin on a harder surface? I am starting to think tumble track is great for tumbling when fatigued if you already have the skills and great for drills but I am not sure how great it is to teach skills on it when they need them on the ground. Looking forward to your thoughts.

I think it is useful but I generally switch among surfaces. Initially when they are first learning I may be most likely to have them stand on the trampoline part of the tumble track, but on the edge, so they go back and put their hands on the resi. I think this is a little more controlled than the bounce the trampoline gives. For smaller kids it doesn't really matter as much because I will hold them the whole time and I will probably just teach them on a 4 inch mat or maybe a wedge mat or whatever we are near. I understand what you mean about the older girls in cheer though.