Parents what organizations allow kids to compete events outside their gender assignments?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I

iflip4joy

I have specifically one 10 yr old boy on my team who wants to ( and is very good at ) beam. USAG ( our organization ) will not allow him to compete unless he is reviewed ( to me a horrible prospect, and besides the point) to determine if he is feminine enough ( or views himself feminine enough) - I was told he must "present himself to the world as a girl" in order to allow him to compete as a girl. He is a boy- and does not want to be a girl. He wants to do the girls events: I asked how would appropriate attire be permitted - since a leotard could not adaquately cover male parts- could he wear shorts over his leotard? I was told they would get back to me- and never did. Ive called multiple times. As a coach I feel so bad he can't compete with his team. He works hard and is being denied the same opportunity that other kids on the team get. I am wondering what organizations allow opposite gender meet partisipation. Do YMCA's