Parents Advice please - squad selection!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

Ebbs19

Proud Parent
Reaction score
First of all, I'm very new to the whole gymnastics thing. My DD is 8 and has been doing gymnastics since May (a late starter I know). She loves it, never stops bouncing round the house or cartwheeling down the street. In the summer she was invited to join the developmental squad as she had been noticed by two of the coaches. She has her front and back walkovers, BHS, can do cartwheels on the beam and seems to love the bars, being the first of the group to pick up back hip circles, etc. I have no idea where this places her in relation to others as we have no experience. She was entered into a competition and came 2nd to a girl who has been going to rec class for 4 years and who was also selected for the dev squad. There was only two tenths between them so to me that suggests they are of a similar skill level.
However we have just found out that our DD is not going to be progressing to squad but the other girl is. Now I don't want to sound like a pushy, crazed mother but we have no idea why? The only difference between them is the length of time they have been attending. In my eyes if my daughter has the same skill set as the others in such a short space of time, surely that shows she is a quick learner and has some natural ability? She has been doing ballet since before she was 3 and it has always been commented on how she holds herself and how she finishes every move and always has the straightest legs and pointiest toes!
We don't seem to have been given any answers, should I keep pushing for one? I know places on the squad are limited and I don't want to go to the gym and put my foot in it and harm any chance she has of progressing further.