Parents Gymnastics at Home

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

clee

Coach
Proud Parent
Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to this forum. I am a former gymnast and coach. I would love to hear everyone's opionions on this issue I'm having with my DD. She is 6yo and has been doing gymnastics for the past 3 yrs. Currently she is on the preteam and will be moving to compete in level 2 next month. She loves doing gymnastics, however, I have noticed that she will say "aww man" and ask if she has to go when I tell her it's time to get ready for practice. But when we are at home she always wants to do gymanstics with me (we have a mini gym at our house). I have asked her if she wants to stop going to class but she keeps telling me she wants to continue at the gym and compete next season. It just seems like she has more fun when we are at home. Should I keep her on team or take her out and just do gymnastics at home? I don't want to be one of "those " parents and make her feel obligated to do gymnastics, but I also know how hard it is to get back into the sport once you have left. Any opinions from coaches or parents is greatly appreciated:)

I think it's probably just more of a "I'm having fun doing what I am doing right now and even though gymnastics is going to be fun too, I'm still a little bummed that I have to stop doing fun right now." I wouldn't sweat it.