Parents I hate to seem judgemental, but something's not right.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

twisting007bigflip

Coach
Proud Parent
Reaction score
Hi parents,

I am new to chalkbucket, and this is technically my first real post.

Preempt:
I am in the gym a lot - usually on my laptop or texting or talking to a friend. I'm there, but not paying a ton of attention to what's going on in dd's class (or any other class for that matter.) But anyway, I'm pretty familiar with all of the faces that come in and out, so when someone new comes in I usually notice.

Last week, everything was completely normal in the gym. I'm on my computer and having an awesome conversation with my best "gym mom friend" when this girl walks in.

She caught everyone's eye, not just mine. Horribly skinny. I'm talking like big time. She smiles as she walks by us, and the cloud of cigarette smoke followed her. She tossed TWO large, empty cans of low carb monster in the trash can and went straight into the gym area. She walked right over to the head coach. And though we couldn't hear what they were saying, he ended up sending her over to work with the new Level 5 team and stayed for the rest of the evening. She was obviously there about a job. Both of our daughters are in that training group.

My first thought? Raging Anorexia.
My best gym mom friend's first thought? Drugs.

We talked to the head coach/owner after class. Asked about her. New coach? And he told me "maybe. if she's a good fit"...my friend and I both expressed our concerns to him right off the bat. He tells us that she's a 33 year old nursing program graduate who has a lifetime passion for gymnastics. And that he won't deal with drugs, but it would be different if it was "just an eating disorder".

That was on wednesday, she then came in on thurdsay and friday last week.