Parents Is this normal? (A team placement question)

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
Reaction score
I am new at this gym mom thing, and quite surprised to have a kid that is so in love with gymnastics. The only things that I know about gymnastics are things that I have learned from or for my daughter.

Our gym competes levels 2-10. Although we get feedback from the coaches, the level our kid ends up at for the season seems to be a closed door decision between the coaches and the owner in some meeting that happens sometime in January. The coaches say they don't always agree with the placement. Neither the gymnasts nor their parents don't know anything until we get an email about a week before the new practice schedule starts that tells us when the kid needs to be at the gym and how much we are paying. There's no communicated criteria as to whether a kid will advance, and numbers seem to play as much of a factor as the kid's talent. Some say favoritism is also a factor. Is that how most gyms are?

With DD's gym, usually the HC follows a certain path-the girls usually do 2 years at level 4, one at 5, and 1-2 yrs at 6. Optionals are determined where she thinks the girls are skill-wise. I think the other 3 coaches put in their opinions, but she makes the final decision. I remember this spring when they put out the summer schedule, 2 of DD's 1st yr. teammates were moved up, mainly because of their age (several years older than DD and the other 1st years) and they had their kip. There has really never been anything communicated with the parents, but no one seems to be bothered by it.

this is why you're supposed to have a general team meeting followed by private 1-1 coach and parent meetings