Parents newbie here, need some advice from other parents

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My daughter started with a club in July on their non-compete prep op team. (Basically a prep op preteam) She is 9 and I know this is late to start in the gymnastics world, but we were both excited that she still has options in the prep op program. Her year so far has had its ups and downs. I feel like her training hasn't been very consistent. She broke her wrist in July doing a standing bridge, and while she was back in the gym 2 days later, she still is afraid to do them now. I feel that this is something that should have been addressed by her coach and not avoided. Since July, her coach has only made her try them maybe once a month if that.

Also, there is another girl on my daughter's team that is always acting up, goofing around, and not listening to the coach. So often to the point that my daughter is worried about going to practice because she doesn't know if this girl is going to behave or not. My daughter does not get involved, her coach has assured me she always listens, and never acts up. Am I wrong to believe that if the girls are working, they should be paying attention? This girl also cheats her way through conditioning, when they are supposed to be doing sit ups, she has one arm down just to get through faster (she is perfectly capable of doing them) There are maybe 4 kids including my daughter that hope to move to a competitive team. The coach has tried incentives for the kids to get them motivated. This girl's response was "so, I don't care" She doesn't listen. At snack time, she takes her soda can, shakes them and opens them up and laughs when they explode all over everyone. When the coach tells them to finish up, she's just opening her snack and everyone waits and extra 15 minutes for her.