Special Olympics Class

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

L

lilgymnast7

Hi! I am looking into volunteering at my gym's special olympic class. There are kids with various disabilities in the class. I wanted to know if anyone had any experience with working with these children, specifially in a gymnastics environment. Does anyone have any advice to give me, or anything that I should know before starting? I have never worked with special needs kids, so I am not sure what might be in store or what to expect at all. I am excited nevertheless! Thanks!

I have no experience on the gym with this group of kids but I just wanted to say how lucky you are to get to help these kids in the gym. My friends brother has downs syndrome and he is a sweetheart, always thrilled with his day.

Both of my older daughters (9 and 11 years old) volunteer as special olympic coaches/athlete volunteer/buddies. Both of them began volunteering when they turned 8 and have loved every minute of it. As much as the parents of the special olympic athletes say that my daughters are a blessing to their children, we feel equally that their children are a blessing to ours. Only advice I can offer is to have patience and respect for these wonderful individuals and find out about any special considerations that each may have. It is truly inspiring watching them train and grow as athletes. If you have any specific questions feel free to ask.

I *LOVE* coaching kids w. special needs. LOVE LOVE LOVE. (My background is in special ed & I ran a small tumbling program for kids on the autism spectrum for a while. It was SO fun).

Some athletes will likely need things broken down to smaller bits than typical gymnasts, & multi step instructions can be harder for a lot of them as well. Finding a different way to present the same thing until it clicks is a challenge- absolutely the fun kind of challenge.