Quitting gym?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

stargazer

Gymnast
I was wondering if you have any advice on transitioning from competitive gymnastics to adult recreational classes?

I'm 18, Level 5 and training 8 hours a week with a coach I love and obviously, doing a sport I adore. This is only my second year in competitive, I joined very late, and I'm not sure if I will have enough money to come back next year. It's over $2000 a year and I'm a university student so that's a lot of money. The thing is, gymnastics has been my passion since I was 12, and even though I train with girls ages 12-16 I'm in love with the sport and don't want to give it up.

If I quit gym, I'll have more money and more time to socialize with people my own age.
If I don't quit gym I'll still be doing the sport I love but at a cost to my wallet, social life and possibly my academic life. Though not very much I should hope

I wouldn't have a huge problem with doing an Adult Rec class instead and I've even gone a couple times just for fun, but that's the problem: it's very low key and definitely just for fun. There's only two coaches for about 40 people which means that if I need spot for new skills and they're not available for most of the evening I'll either have to chuck it or become very comfortable with falling :p

So, have any of you been in the same situation or have any thoughts on the matter?

I can see your dilemma. Gymnastics is an expensive sport, though fun and usually rewarding.

You could really go either way. Its obvious that you love gymnastics, so this isn't a matter of how much you like the sport. Though I'm not a university student, I've heard how expensive it can be, between books and other materials. $2000 dollars a year is a lot anyways.

There's two trains of thought really. One of them is that while gymnastics is fun, school is your main focus. If you strongly believed that, I'd either cut down on training hours or quit if it came down to it.