5yo Attention and Boredom in Gym

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I just wanted to share my recent experience. Maybe it will help someone else.

My youngest dd has been in gymnastics off and on since she was 3yo. She is 5yo now. She was placed in a rec class for preschoolers over and over.....and it was clear, even to my untrained eye that she was not where she belonged in terms of skill and ability.

I asked her coach what she thought and she said my dd was strong and talented, but didn't really pay attention well enough to be anywhere but the preschool gym. I accepted that answer for a while, but something didn't feel right about it. I could see my dd's attention drifting, but I could also see her body wanting to do something more than jump a hopscotch design on the floor or take one swing on a bar.

I am not good at questioning authority, but I finally got up my nerve and approached the powers that be at the gym and very kindly posed the question, "Is it possible that my dd is not paying attention because she is a little bored"?

Since anything is possible, they agreed and told me she could "try" the first level of preteam and see if the coach thought she could catch up with the girls in that group who had been together for almost a year.

I was amazed. DD was in her element in this new group (all 5yos like herself) where she was constantly working and reworking skills. She was challenged by new skills she couldn't quite do and proud of herself for things she could do very well. No one watching would guess she was the "new kid" in the group.

And most importantly, she paid attention. As well as any other 5yo. And she came out of her class sweaty and tired........not still bouncing off the wall.

She now goes twice a week and is on team track. She feels good about what she is doing now. And I feel satisfied that she is in a group appropriate for her ability.