Parents Advice for families new to competition

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Avasmom

Proud Parent
For all of you who have children that have been competing for a while what is your best advice to the new families who just started? We just started competing Novice in January and I am new to this world.

I got a little score book before the first competition and have kept all my daughters scores in it since her first meet. It's fun to flip through the pages and see all her meets!
My daughter also has a gymnastics journal which has places for
Her to write her pre meet goals, her meet results, and also her goals for the next meet.

Prepare for a lot of expenses- some related to gymnastics and others not directly related to the gym itself. For example, after the compulsory levels, you have to pay for floor music and choreography. As far as non-gym related expenses there are hotel rooms and sometimes attending attractions near meets that are far from home. The sport gets more and more expensive as your gymnast progresses through the levels. Have fun and good luck! It becomes a way of life for the whole family.

Let your child lead post meet conversations. Pointing out things she could have done better saps the joy from the day. If she mentions it, then go with her flow, but don't bring up critical points. The coach will cover them at her next practice.

Pack snacks, remember her grips, pack a spare suit in her gym colours *just in case*.

Try to stay at the same hotel as the team at least once in the season. You can keep costs lower by splitting costs (car pooling, sharing hotel rooms)

Encourage good sportsmanship. Cheering other competitors, being happy for team mates success, being a gracious winner or loser.

Be prepared for a sore bottom from bleachers and hard seats. Be prepared for boredom, waiting hours to watch your child perform for two minutes total is quite painful at times.