MAG Back Hip Circle Help - 5 year old

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
Men's Artistic Gymnastics

SuperDad7

Proud Parent
Reaction score
Hello Gymnastics coaches,

I'm a new coach and a retired rec gymnast :p. I have been coaching a 4-5 year old boys kinder class, and there is one particular kid who is pretty advanced. No fear, and pretty much goes for any skill I teach. Also pretty good strength. Thinking of having him get checked for pre-team at the end of the season.

About a month ago, he got his back hip circle on bars. At first they were alright. Never finished in front support, but made it around. But lately, I've been noticing that after the cast, when bringing the hips back to the bar, he kinda bends his arms and goes on his stomach and then circles, instead of resting on his hips, which kind off kills his speed. Can kinda look like a pull over from a stomach high chin up. When he doesn't bend his arms, he doesn't make it around, and instead, just drops straight down.

We tried a few drills, assuming all he needs is to keep his arms straight, however, with limited time on bars for a kinder class thats once a week, it's hard for him to maintain anything really. His older sister is competitive at another gym and dad mentioned they have a Tumbl Track bar at home so not sure if its because of that.

Has anybody seen kids do back hip circles with their stomaches or similar and have been able to fix it?

First thing I would do is isolate the BHC from the cast. Ie, he just holds a tight position and you spin him around the bar, and all he has to do is stay tight and keep arms straight.

I'd also look at how he transitions from his cast to his BHC. The power doesn't come from the legs and feet coming down and forward; it comes from the chest dropping back. He may be waiting too long to drop the chest and shoulders back.