WAG Back to Back Meets

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

Muddlethru

Proud Parent
Reaction score
Looking at our meet schedule, our coaches have scheduled three meets in a row leading up to states. I've never done gymnastics so I don't know the strain, stress, recovery, toll a meet has on a gymnast. Seems like it could go either way. Having two meets two weekends in a row before states could better prepare a gymnast for states OR could be too taxing/exhausting. Any thoughts. Coaches? Anyone? We will need to fly to states and one of the meets prior will also require flying.

As a coach, I've never gotten why some gyms do this. If you have meets every weekend, you're always just running routines and not able to stop and correct or perfect things to improve. I can see how extra meets can build confidence, but I can also see how, if you have a kid with a more major issue on an event, it could kill confidence/self esteem, going out weeks in a row, doing the same mistake/problem over and over. I dont think that goes for just major issues either - my group of L5s is working on perfecting things at this stage of the season (we have 1 more meet plus States) and the time we're spending on this is really reflecting positively in their scores. It wouldnt be possible for us to work this way if they had a meet every weekend. When I first started competing, my YMCA team did the meet-every-week thing and I hated it for the reasons above. As a coach, I still feel the same way. I schedule one or two meets a month for my team, that's it. :)