WAG Benefits of grips

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Yes, they will als improve your grip on bars, the dowel on the grip will in effect lengthen your grip around the bar. You will find them very useful when learning to do skills like Giants.

I never felt like I needed grips until I started learning clear hips. Everything up to then was fine without. Other people have different experiences, though.
If you don't get rips and you don't feel like you need grips to hang on to the bar, you might not need them yet. It's up to you! Maybe you can borrow a friend's for 10 minutes just to see what it's like.

Congrats! Grips here are a rite of passage that all gymmies look forward to! Usually kids get them after they are kipping with consistency.
They aren't necessarily something ALL gymmies look forward to. We have and L8/9 who just started using grips when training L8.
My OG got grips after she got her kip consistently (2010), but still hasn't competed with grips to this day. She hated them from day 1.
Half of our L5s compete without grips (and actually score better on bars than the girls with grips). None of our L4s wear grips … and none are talking about wanting them either.

I would say that if you don't rip, then don't worry about it for now.