Parents Competitive Parents Duties - Volunteering

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

SuperDad7

Proud Parent
Reaction score
So im quite new to this world of gymnastics and just received the contract for our boy’s pre-competitive program.

Our gym requires a mandatory 12 hours of volunteering for parents and then each parent needs to raise more than 600$ by the end of the season in fundraising and such. This is by getting sponsors and stuff for the club, and more. If not, you pay the price.

Just out of curiosity, does every gym do this? What kind of tasks, roles & responsibilities does the gym give you as a volunteer parent of a gymnast? Just tryna wrap my head around this😅

No, every gym does not do this. While I have only been involved with two gyms, I suspect that fewer and fewer gyms have booster clubs because of the drama and overhead. It sounds like your gym has a 501c4 or Social Club booster organization versus a 501c3 or Charity organization. Many high school bands have booster groups organized this way. The way it works in theory is before the season, the booster leadership works with gym to identify meets/expenses for year, they come up with some target contribution amount and then set individual targets for booster members to raise. With bands for example it could be to fund a band trip to march in a parade. Booster members can either "donate" that amount or volunteer at events where the booster club makes money, so for gyms it could be a meet doing things like set-up, ticket sales, concessions, etc.