Parents Growth plate injuries?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Rapunzel

Proud Parent
What does it mean? It sounds scary, I overheard some parents talking about it at a comp earlier in the year and one was saying something along the lines of increased hours=increased risk of growth plate injuries? Is it because of the increased exposure or is it around repetition of moves? It sounded like a very dramatic conversation and a bit of jealousy perhaps "ooh you don't want your child training 12 hours a week, they'll get a growth plate injury you know".
If a child was doing say 5 hours gymnastics a week and 6 hours of another sport (no wonder homework is a squeeze!) does the variety reduce the risk of injury? How many rest days/week is recommended for a 9yr old?

my belief, though I'm no expert, is its repetitive impact that causes growth plate injuries.

Lots of clubs minimise by training into pits, tumble tracks, soft mats etc.

5 hours a week gymnastics should be ok. Especially at a lower level with no high repetitions. It depends on her other sport though, if it's similarly high impact like track, running/high jumping, dancing then you'll have to look at the total hours and include them in the risk. If it's swimming or cycling then not so much to worry about.

Ds has Osgood Schlatters, which is an inflammation of the growth plate at the knee. I learned a lot from the sports doctor. Part of that growth plate is just cartilage until puberty. It is located at the front of the bone, not above. Around puberty it turns to bone and attaches to the growth plate at the top of the lower leg bone. As this process happens, it can get inflamed esp. when a child is active and uses their legs a lot. A lack of flexibility or imbalance in leg strength can contribute to the problem. For some it's just a nuisance pain, for others it can lead to more damage if not managed properly.