WAG I am a beginner and I feel so weak beside my team mates. How fast can I improve?

• Thread starter Thread starter twistingmia
  • Start date Start date

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
T

twistingmia

Hello guys!

I just moved to the US from Finland with my family and I love it here sooo much! I joined the cheerleading team in my school and I love it. I just don't feel very comfortable there because most of the girls are really really good so I am a little bit unsure, although everyone is nice.

I want to know how long it would take me be about as good as my team mates?

Here is a video I found which shows pretty much all of the skills they can do.

Most of the girls can also do a front and side aerial, a needle and a scorpion.

I can already to good cartwheels and dive cartwheels, round-offs and all my splits and backbends. But I feel so stupid compared to them. I want it so badly and I also want to compete!!!
I will work very very hard, my team trains 2 times a week for 2 hours but I will try to do some extra work at home or with friends. We also have a trampoline in our garden.

What do you think how long does it take the average girl to learn these skills? Most of my teammates started when they were young, I am 15 already. Can I still do it??? I know there will be no exact answer but maybe just approximately? I have no idea whether it takes half a year, 1 year, 2 years or maybe even 5???
I love love love it and I want to improooove as fast as possible!

Please help me, I love your country!!!

Mia

Hi, welcome to the US and good luck with your cheer-leading. Our gym offers high school cheer tumbling classes. Could you look into something like that at an area gymnastics or cheer club near you? A basic tumbling class or cheer tumbling class would be a great compliment and provide you with quality coaching which is super important.