WAG So... Dance Moms...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Aero

Coach
So, I just saw a couple episodes of Dance Moms for the first time today. Wow... Abbey Lee Miller is literally the WORST coach I've ever seen. I'm a new aspiring coach, and watching this show has basically shown me what not to do while coaching. Even though this is for dance, and not gymnastics, the same rules apply. You cannot be so cruel and ruthless. The sport/art form should be fun for the kids AND challenging at the same time. For kids to stay interested, they need to have fun doing what they do, as well as being challenged. Otherwise, they're going to lose their passion for it, and eventually end up hating it and quit. Yes, sometimes you have to crack down and tell the kids to focus, work harder, and quit fooling around. Abbey Lee, however, rarely EVER compliments the girls under her care. There needs to be some kind of positive reinforcement. If there is only criticism and no praise it can feel quite hopeless to the children.

Abbey Lee Miller certainly is a very knowledgeable coach and definitely knows what she's talking about, but the training atmosphere she provides is way too intense, with virtually no nurturing and care. Just venting, really. What do you all think on the matter?

If we ever cross paths with a coach like that, we would head for the door so fast you'd feel a breeze. Nothing in the world is important enough to allow anyone to treat my DD that way. I would never tolerate it, even if it meant DD had to quit gymnastics.

I am not saying she is a good coach, but I do believe that we only see a portion of what is going on. they want to show the drama. And these kids stay around. There has to be something positive there.....I just think we see what producers want us to see.