Off Topic transition away from gymnastics

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

stargazer

Gymnast
Reaction score
Just for some background: I'm 19 and a Level 5, and have been in competitive for 3 years but doing gym since I was 12. I absolutely love the sport and my body craves it after a few days off, but I'm training with girls aged 12-16 and as I'm in 2nd year university would very much like to have a group of friends my own age. As well, I'm at the highest level I can get without going Provincial and sadly my school schedule is way too crazy to get into that. Plus it's a ton of money that - at my age anyways - would otherwise be used for moving out or something of the sort.

I will probably go the the adult rec classes that my gym offers to keep myself from going though withdrawal ;) but I'm trying to decide what sports/activities to get into, and where I can find a solid group of friends my own age. I'm interested in learning hip-hop, but I'm a bit shy and not a particularly gifted dancer - judging from nearly no experience though. I was wondering if you have any advice on the situation in general? I've considered cheerleading but I know a few girls on the team say it's very drama-filled and I don't think I want to get into that.

Thanks!

I know what you mean by training with people half your age etc (i am 17 and the next oldest is 14 so similar age gap) luckily for me I get along great with all of them and couldn't imagine my life without them! I am also rather shy so similar kinda situation only i don't have to move on from gym yet