Parents Uptraining..

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

E

Ex member

I have seen uptraining mentioned a lot on these forums, what exactly does it mean and when does it usually take place? I am quite new to competitive gymnastics and I cannot tell if what my dd's do is uptraining or normal training.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I am completly clueless about a lot of aspects of gymnastics and what like to learn more.

We have a different system to the states ours acquire skills all year round and do not have a competition season per se. P&F could compete (UK) level 4 atm, but doesn't yet have her giant on wood and so wouldn't get her bonuses or medal so until she gets them she will probable still compete 5, but could move up at any time.

As the states has one linear progression coupled with a "season" they do things differently

We have a different system to the states ours acquire skills all year round and do not have a competition season per se. P&F could compete (UK) level 4 atm, but doesn't yet have her giant on wood and so wouldn't get her bonuses or medal so until she gets them she will probable still compete 5, but could move up at any time.

As the states has one linear progression coupled with a "season" they do things differently

I am still trying to figure out how things work in the uk, take. grades for example, once you get a pass, merit or distinction on that grade do you move up before the next grades competition (even if it is the same year) or do you still stay the same grade until next year.

For example for oldest dd just got a Distinction for her Grade, they may be competing in the British Championships at the end of the year, would they compete the same grade or the next grade up?