WAG when does gymnastics become second nature

• Thread starter Thread starter lisiflex
  • Start date Start date

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
L

lisiflex

Hello guys!

I wanted to know how long it take you/your dd/the gymnasts to successfully do RO BH BT and a FH FT perfectly like second nature?

I have a very good round-off, I can do a standing back handspring, a standing back tuck, and of course a front handspring and running front tuck but NEVER tried to combine any of those.

So I want to start combining them next week. Of course, it varies from gymnast to gymnast on how long it takes, but I just want to get some ideas!

So how long did it take you/your kids/gymnasts to combine RO BH BT and FH FT and then how long should I calculate that it really becomes "second nature"?

For example, when I started training my back tucks, at the beginning I had to concentrate really hard, even on the trampoline and was scared before any attempt. Within 3 weeks it got better, although I was always scared at the first attempt. And after several weeks I didn't even need to concentrate very hard, some seconds are enough now and I can throw a tuck pretty much all the time!

How long is this with RO BH BT + FH FT on average? Is it possible that when I start next week I can have it perfectly on floor in 10-12 months?

Will you be working with a coach in a gym setting?

Of course!

I train 6 hours a week in a big gym (3 days a week for 2 hours) plus 4 hours of conditioning a week (4 days a week 1 hour of conditioning)!

My DD has been "naturally" tumbling those skills for at least a year but she also didn't learn them like you did. She didn't have the individual skills and then put them together as a series. So your learning curve might not be as steep as normal