Coaches Best way to spot a flyaway?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

All Chalked Up

Coach
Gymnast
My sister and I are learning how to do flyaways. Our coach is spotting, but the catch is we have to spot them with her because she's not big enough to spot them by herself (so we will be double spotting). I'm a coach too so it's not like I'm new to spotting! My sister and I are the same size and our coach isn't too much bigger. How is the best way to spot a flyaway when the gymnast is the same size as you?

We also don't have a lot of equipment- basically all we have for mats is a portapit, a wedge mat and red mats so we can't set up one of those flywaway drills with 278490378938 mats. Ideas?

Low bar until the timing is correct. After that, the spot from high bar really should just be assisting to make sure the angle is ok.

I'd stick to a raised low bar OR a low high bar if you are too tall.

We used to have a similar problem - no pits, not enough mats etc, so we had to be creative!

You both need to be able to stand on something which enables you to reach the gymnast's shoulder throughout the skill and you could do with being able to move with them.
Not sure if you can think of anything?! We used to use 2 coaching blocks - both 60cm high on opposite sides of the bar, making a sort of channel for the gymnasts to swing between. We also used to have to use gym tables to stand on with a splat mat draped between them before we had the coaching blocks!

Good luck!!

If the kids have good swing, done some drills, and have a general idea of how a flyaway works- they should be fine without much of a spot unless they totally freak in the middle of the skill (which is probably why the coach wants to double spot- floppy kids the same size as you flipping off the high bar is a scary situation).