WAG Do Artistic Gymnasts ever do Acro and Tumbling in college?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

cadybearsmommy

Proud Parent
I just noticed something exciting yesterday and of course now I have some questions. The college I graduated from has recently added an Acro and Tumbling team...which was news to me until I saw it browsing on their website last night. They are Div 2. Was wondering, is it common for artistic gymnasts to pursue this in college? Or do they recruit more from the cheerleading side? Is there any kind of scholarship for this, or is it just more for fun?

Just wondering as my dd has always said she would love to do some kind of gymnastics at the college level, even if it was just club gymnastics, and was wondering if this might be a good option for kids like her who are decent gymnasts but are probably not going to be recruited for artistic gymnastics with the fierce competition for those scholarships....it's all very far away at this point and she could likely change her mind about wanting to continue any sort of gymnastics in college, but was just curious as I don't know a lot about the program...thanks!

one of the former level 10 gymnast from our club received a scholarship for the acro-tumbling team at University of Oregon.. apparently they are one of the powerhouse programs...

they also recruit athletes from variety of other sports...

one of the former level 10 gymnast from our club received a scholarship for the acro-tumbling team at University of Oregon.. apparently they are one of the powerhouse programs...

they also recruit athletes from variety of other sports...

That's great, it seems like one of the best things about gymnastics is that they often excel in other sports as well. We know a girl who was a gymnast and got a full scholarship to a division 1 rowing team! All of her upper body strength came in handy!