Parents Arab WAG gymnasts?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Uglybetty

Proud Parent
I'm new to WAG (always watched it but never really paid much attention...just kind of thought "oh that was good"). My lack of prior attention though means apart from a few local elite gymnasts, i know very little about gymnasts from other countries.
We always try to inspire some pride in our DD as being both Arab and British, so I was searching to see if any of the Arab countries have Elite level WAG and apart from an Egyptian Rythmic gymnast (who placed 23rd in London 2012), I can't seem to find any? I've discounted her on the basis that its the wrong kind of gymnastics. Does anyone know of a gymnast of Arab heritage who competes WAG?

Thanks, using this vital snippet of info led me to the results of the 2011 pan arab games. There are three Egyptians, two from Qatar, one Moroccan and and one Turk that I could find results for. I've shown my DD their pictures and we'll watch some of their routines together. She'll always aspire to represent Britain (although I think it's technically possible for her to represent her heritage country because her dad can claim nationality and then she too could claim) but its nice for her to see other Arab WAGs perform at a high level.

Lots of gymnasts train in one country and compete for another. Getting onto teams from some of the lesser known gym countries can be much easier than in the stronger ones.

Nice to have girls to look up to that she can identify with. The UK has a great gym programme doesn't it.

Hala Alali was a british gymnast from South Durham gym club in the UK who was also a member of the Jordanian national team a few years ago. I found some results for her from 2002 but no video.