Anon Choreography

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A

Anonymous (e0d6)

I’m not sure if our gym actually teaches the choreography dance part when it comes to their floor routines. This is her first year being able to pick music and not have a set routine given by the coaches.
Does most gym coaches assist with choreography? It appears the level coach is helping level gymnasts but not Xcel. Shouldn’t it be equal?
I know some gymnasts help each other but to my knowledge that’s the extent of it.
So right now we are watching YouTube and trying to figure it out.
If this is normal then great but if not then can you offer some advice, direction, suggestions. I saw the other thread about paying for a choreographer but not even sure where I would start to find one. A quick Google search brings up dance studios. And the of course cost factor too but would it be worth paying a decent routine than a self-taught -maybe? However (thinking as I type this) isn’t this what I’m paying the gym for? We don’t have assessment fees or anything like that so maybe not?

Thanks in advance.

We have some former gymnasts (graduated high school for the most part) that are willing to help with choreo.
We also have a couple high school age coaches that will help with it too.

Each gym handles this differently. The gym I worked at (Xcel only) most recently had several coaches who did all of the routines and the coach for each level helped facilitate scheduling with the coach who would be a good fit to choreograph each routine. It is an additional charge for the private lesson to learn the routine and the fee is different for different music length. There is also an additional fee if we have to cut the music. This is outlined in our handbook, which is signed by coach, parent, and athlete before summer training starts.

The gym I grew up in used outside choreographers but again facilitated the process by telling us who they recommended, giving contact information, etc.