Favorites For London

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi everyone!

So, this is my first time posting on this message board. We are 28 days away from the Olympics, and after watching the trials, I don't know if I am going to make it that long before exploding into a ball of excited emotion.

With all of the teams announced, who are your favorites for the events in London? Will all the favorites dominate the podium? Will we see some surprises?

I am hoping for a floor medal for Victoria Moors of Canada. Her routine is beautiful and full of great skills.

Welcome to the Chalkbucket.

I'm personally interested in seeing Ponor on the beam. I figured she probably wouldn't be a contender in London, but she looked great at the European Championships.

I definitely want to see Beth on the podium for Bars. Don't know whether she is in contention on floor or not - 2 medals would be the icing on the cake.

I really want to see Komova on the podium All Around.

Vault - Maroney(can they just give her all 3 medals?)
UB - Tweddle/ Mustafina
Beam - Ponor/Iordache
Floor - Raisman/Ponor/Iordache
AA - Douglas/Komova/Wieber(maybe Mustafina?)

Dont know much about what the Chinese or up to at the moment,
But would expect them to take a spot on UB and beam.

I have Wieber Fever, so I'm hoping she takes AA gold. Would love Gabby Douglas to take Silver AA. And of course I want USA to win team gold :)

I think I like Beth Tweedle on bars, as well. I think the uneven bars even is completely wide open, with Liukin retired and Komova, the reigning world champion, looking beatable. A big question surrounds He Kexin. She's been injured and lost some confidence, but her routine at Chinese nationals was amazing. If China decides to bring her, she could contend again.

My view is

Vault - 1 Maroney - 2 Izbasa - 3 Douglas
UB - 1 Komova- 2 Mustafina - 3 Douglas
Beam - 1 Ponor - 2 Iordache - 3
Huang Qiushuang
Floor -1 Iordache - 2 Ponor - 3
Ksenia Afanasyeva