Coaches How to approach another coach of differing opinions?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

N

niklum

I recently took at new job as a Rec Director at a new gym even though I've been a team coach for many years. My daughter came with me as a new Level 7 and I've always been one of her coaching team. When we came to this new gym, she was ready to compete Level 7 right away, with completed routines and skills. In the past month, she's lost most of her newly attained skills, forgotten her routines, her form has deteriorated, and she has lost all motivation to succeed because her new team coach is changing her techniques and killing her artistry. Oh, and he's not very encouraging, either. My child (like any other) thrives on encouragement and enthusiasm. In other words, she's a worse gymnast now than she was 2 months ago and I have lost all confidence that she'll have a successful season or stay in the sport. :(The new coach has held off on putting her in meets and is teaching her new techniques that are completely different from what I and other, successful optionals coaches have taught her. The problem is that the other coaches I have worked with all have had a Russian technical influence, but this coach is using Chinese techniques. My daughter is confused and frustrated to the point of quitting and I'm tempted to let her. I tried talking to the new coach, since I know this gymnast as her coach of 6 years, but he obstinately wants to stick to his techniques, despite the fact that they're detrimental to this gymnast.:mad: