Injury psychology

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ivyagogo

Coach
It was a year ago today I finally got my full twist - and a year ago today that I tore my ACL and severely sprained both my LCL and MCL.

[video=youtube;uN5bWkDm5nU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uN5bWkDm5nU[/video]

I am tumbling again and my layouts are strong. My coach (who is also my boss since I'm a coach too) is convinced I can twist and says that he can spot me. Everyone in the gym is convinced I can do it as well. Even I know I can do it, but I'm just really scared. I can do a 1/2 and I'm trying to slowly start the twist earlier.

If you look at the video you can see how I land to the side with my knee straight. When I hurt my knee, I am pretty certain I landed with my foot between those two mats. Now, we have a very large resi-pit at the end of this tumbltrak.

I am 42 years old. I don't have to twist - it's not like a requirement. It's just something that I wanted to do my whole life and was only able to do 4 of them before injuring myself.

So the question I pose here: If you were in my situation would you (a) say that I've proven I can do it and move on or would you (b) trust your coach and try to go for it again. If the answer is (b), how can I get over the fear of re-injury?

I guess that is a question that only you will have the answer to. No you don't need to do it for any reason, there are plenty of other things you can learn and you shouldn't do it because others think you should but maybe it is a fear you need to conquer. If you go for it, make sure you can do the layouts with bent knees on landing and then make sure you are ready to fully commit twisting can be bad for the joints if you twist the upper half but not the lower half. Good luck in whatever decision you make! I think it is great that you are 42 and still at it.