Leotards.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

E

EmmasMommy

My daughter needs a new gymnastics leotard and I was going to let her pick one out. She wants to get a long sleeve leotard. I can't remember if I recall any of the other girls in the gym wearing them (aside from competitions). I *think* there might be one other girl on her team who wears long sleeve to practice, but I just can't be *sure*.

I'm a bit new to all this. Maybe this is a stupid question. But is it okay to wear long-sleeve leotards to practice? Is it uncommon/frowned up on in anyway?

I just want to ask before I buy her one. I know her gym probably doesn't care one way or another, but I don't want to break some unspoken rule or anything.

Thanks in advance for any feedback on this ridiculous question.

Its ok to wear them but most girls who get them usually only wear them once or twice or if its really cold. My DD went through a couple of months where she wore them but doesn't wear them anymore.

My advice is just buy one that is cheap and stick with the sleevless ones.

I find too that Discount Leotards and The leotard Lady have very affordable leos.

My DD likes to wear them. I hate to buy them because they are so darn expensive!! I have found some lower priced ones on eBay though. I don't know where you are located, but here in MA/CT, it gets really cold and DD likes to have the sleeves at practice!

we are in NH and I keep trying to get her to wear the long sleeved ones especially when it gets cold but nope she wont' wear them any more.

e-bay has some some great buys but the selections aren't as large. DD never saw one she liked

My DD wears them in winter and so do most of the other girls she trains with. Some of the other girls at our gym wear sleeveless year-round, I guess they get quite warm while training hard. I guess it also depends on how cold it gets where you live and how cold it gets inside your gym.