Parents Logistics Assistance

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

Midnightd

Proud Parent
Hello fellow gym parents. I'm relatively new to this whole thing. I started both of my children (almost 5 and almost 7) in gymnastics in September. A few weeks ago we got an invitation for the almost 7 year old (boy) to try out for the pre-competitive "developmental" team at our gym. He did the tryout and passed. He would be starting the team in September, so I have some time to work out logistics. But basically, he will be doing 2 days a week. 4-7pm on Monday and 10-1 on Saturday. Saturday isn't an issue at all, but the Monday evening is throwing me for a loop. We're used to an hour or an hour and a half activity on weekday evenings (he's doing track this summer 2 days a week and it starts at 6pm). My husband and I share/alternate breakfast and supper responsibilities where he mostly does breakfast so I can go to work early and then I cook supper, and one or two days a week we swap. But on the days I do breakfast and drive the kids to school I don't get to work until 8 or so, which means I can't leave work until 4... which obviously doesn't work, and him being able to reliably leave work by 3 is very low.

If you have a similar schedule with your kids (evening gym time for multiple hours) and have multiple kids, what do you do to accommodate with your family? Who does which activities and how do you balance? Just looking for some insight and suggestions that might work or be worth considering for our family to make it work!

The longer gym practices actually make it easier to facilitate other sibling activities. You can drop off, spend all that time at home with siblings/cooking/their activities. It's better than an hour or hour and a half practice that you stay for.

How long is your commute?