Parents New Gym Mom Advice

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm new to the CB though I've been reading comments for a while. Please excuse me if anything I say sounds elementary, I'm still learning and have quite a way to go. I joined specifically so I could get an experienced gym parent perspective on this...a little background is required, so pardon the length!

My dd is 6 and started gymnastics at a gym close to our house about 7 months ago, mainly because one of her friends went there. I did not research or check out other gyms...this one was convenient and she was a beginner. This gym is a recreational gym and does not have a team above level 4. Again, this wasn't a concern when we started.

After about a month, they asked my dd to join their level 1 team. I use the term "team" loosely because I realize that 1-4 don't compete in the true sense, but as this gym is part of a chain, they hold in house meets at the lower levels with their other locations. I believe she was asked to join because she listens well, picked up skills quickly, and she is small for her age (40 lbs and about 3'7"). And probably because, since she has 2 brothers she has no fear (yet). She learned the level 1 routines and skills within 3 weeks and enjoyed the last 2 meets of the season. Now she has the "bug".

At evaluations they moved her to level 3 because they felt she would get bored quickly at 2. She's going twice a week--one day is a 2 hour team practice (8 girls, one fabulous coach) and then one night 1 hour power tumbling (2 coaches, 12-14 girls of many ages). My main concern is that she wants really badly to do more skills--she loves to practice, but where she is, she just doesn't get the attention. In her last tumbling lesson, she only got to attempt her bh 3 or 4 times and she's dying to get it and shes frustrated, as am I given the amount of money I'm spending (and I know it's minimal at this point, but still, I don't feel I'm getting my money's worth).