WAG Opinions on Camp Woodward

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Aero

Coach
I'm starting an Xcel team at my gym this summer and I'm super excited. However, this is my first foray into competitive coaching (I've been teaching rec classes for over four years now), so I've been thinking of ways to improve my abilities and get ready for this experience so I can be the best coach I can possibly be. A friend of mine said I should work at Woodward in Pennsylvania for a couple weeks in the summer. He mentioned it being a fantastic experience. He tells me about the world class facilities there, as well as all the awesome people you get to meet, including well respected coaches and well known athletes.

I'm curious to know how many of you have gone to Woodward, PA and what you think of the place. Also, if any coaches have done this would you be able to tell me how it works? How do they decide what levels you teach and when you teach? Are there courses and learning opportunities for coaches? WHAT'S THE FOOD LIKE?!

I heard the pay isn't good, but that's not at all why I want to do this. Do you think this would be a good thing to take part in to improve my abilities as a team coach?

Never been there, but coaching at Woodward or IGC is a dream of mine... of course not RIGHT NOW - shoulder and all... so not this summer either, but it is a dream.
I would recommend looking into it. Contact Woodward for information and see what they say. :)
Good luck.

They just posted their applications this week...I would totally do it if I could and I were in your shoes. You will learn a lot and come back ready to roll. DD's whole team is going - 2 coaches and 20+ gymnasts.

DD loves Woodward goes every year. Last couple years she attended with most of the optionals. Food is okay. Lots of choices though so you can always find something.