Coaches Pre team ideas!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Mikala Collier

Coach
Proud Parent
Gymnast
Judge
This is my first time posting a topic so forgive me if I seem out of the loop. Still trying to get a hang of this.
I need some ideas though! I am a trampoline and tumbling coach. I coach all of our teams and a lot of rec classes but I am struggling with out pre-team. There are 9 kids ranging from age 5-8. My issue is structure and motivation with them. What kind of things do you guys do (gymnastics or t&t) to keep your younger team athletes working hard. Charts? Progression sheets? I need new ideas!!!

Hello! Welcome to the board! I absolutely love coaching pre-team groups as the kids tend to be very excited and anxious to learn, but it is a bit of learning curve as they start devoting more time to form and cleaning things up. Some things I have found to be helpful are skill charts- a sticker for a new skill. It helps the kids see their progression. I've also done a sticker chart for major conditioning milestones- I picked out 12 major conditioning skills and # of reps and they would get a sticker when they reached it. They would get little prizes for every 4 stickers (trampoline time, hair ties, socks, to be in charge of conditioning). It helped make the increased emphasis on strength a little bit more enjoyable for them and also helped them to see their progress.