Coaches Preteam coaches, some perspective needed!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymisforeveryone

Coach
Judge
Hi!

I started as a preteam coach in September. There is 11 6-7 year old girls in this group. The gym I coach in has four groups of team girls age 6-8 and they are divided into those groups on the basis of their potential, earlier progress in gymnastics (team or rec), physical abilities and willingness to practice. Mainly because I'm a new coach in the gym they gave me the less-potential group. We are "allowed" to practice 3 hours a week + running practice 1 hour/week. The other groups practice 6-8 hours per week + running or/and dance.

I really like my girls, they are sweet. We have made a nice program with my assistant coach and there is many "fun" things involved in practices: the kids get stickers when they get their goal skills or do their conditioning at home. I have also always tried to make lesson plans that are fun and keep the kids active all the time. But the problem is that the other preteams have same practice times as we and I can't help comparing my group's progress to the other teams. The other 6 and 7 year olds seem to be so hard working girls who never goof around or cheat when doing conditioning... They always listen their coach like she was a God (well I have to admit she is AWESOME) and seem to work well without coach needing to raise her voice. And those kids do TONS of conditioning and they never complain.

Needless to say, they have progressed so much faster than my group. Almost all the others have already competed a few meets but my girls have a long way to go to the point they will master the competitive routines. And there is also kind of big difference of skill and experience level in my group. Some of the girls have started gym at age 2 and been in some kind of pre team for years and others has just started (they were picked to the team last summer with almost zero gym experience).