Approach Coach when upset or not? Difficult situation for me.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi. I'm new to competitive gymnastics and my daughter has never competed but has been training to do so now for 8 months. The recreational gym where she has attended since 4 years old hired a former Olympic coach last year. He coached in Romania of the 70's and 80's era, helped coach Nadia for the Olympics, so everyone is in awe of him. But of course, he is getting up there in age. His personality is of a tough-guy and he is hard-core when he coaches but my daughter is fine with all that. He has much respect from the other coaches (recreational) in the gym. So basically, the program is being built and 99% of the girls in it have been pulled from the recreational kids that were already in the gym before he came.

At first, everything was great, heavy progress was being made. We were all-in, excited, all smiles. But now (based on my observations) , I'm beginning to have doubts and sometimes I become upset. I think some other parents may feel the same way but hard to know for sure. Here are the issues that bother me: A girl from another gym came to our gym a couple of months ago and she has competition experience (level 4) and is really good. I'm fine with that. I'm not a jealous person. What bothers me is that the coach now spends most of the time on her. I feel like I and many of the other parents are paying for her private lesson. I'm not exaggerating on this. Even when he spots girls on the bars, sometimes his eyes will be on her across the way. That looks dangerous to me actually. This has been witnessed over several practices, not just one. On Beam, the 1-on-1 attention may be 80% her, 20% everyone else. On bars, she always gets more turns.