Coaches Crazy Parents

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

caraburn

Coach
Judge
Hi Everyone!

I am the head level 5/6 coach at my gym and this is my first year as head coach. I have almost 20 girls practicing at once and many of them were moved up before they were ready. It was not my decision to move these girls up because they had already been told they were moving up by the time I started coaching and the coach before me taught them many skills the wrong way, etc.. So, naturally, many of the girls are having a less than satisfactory meet season so far. They have all had incredible improvements but when they were so far behind there was no way I was going to have them ready to have a spectacular season. Well, parents are blaming me for this instead of the coach that actually had them for the majority of the past year, or realizing that they just werent ready, overlooking the improvements they've made. I've only had the 6's for two months. All the complaining is rubbing off on the kids and now they won't work or listen to me, I have no respect. It's been a nightmare. I get hate calls all the time from parents and it ridiculous. My boss tells me I'm doing an amazing job with the girls, but the parents want 1st places and 9's on every event and it's just not possible right now, but they won't back off. What do I do?

Would your boss be supportive of a L5/6 team meeting with you, boss and parents to set the record straight. Try to be able to show specific improvements made, required skills for their level, what skills they were missing or doing incorrectly when you took over and that you have worked hard to fix those / or teach them.

As a parent I would LOVE 1st place and 9's but hey, let's be realistic - not always going to happen all the time, for many reasons.

I wish you luck, you sound like a wonderful coach.