do i have a future in this?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

So i love (x10) gymnastics and go to the gym as many times as i can (4-5 time a week 5 a day) i would do anything for it. I'm a good student and i will be a freshmen this year i also will be competing 6 in the fall and (hopefully) will do 7 in the spring. The only thing i need for 7 is tumbling (which needs a fear adjustment) and giant (piece of cake they are my favorite skill). My goal is to compete in college (maybe TWU :)), but when i went to one of their meets, it seemed impossible. Does anyone have anything to comment on this subject? Do you think i will be able to do it in college?

It really depends on what you mean by being able to do it in college. You may be able to be on the gymnastics team as a walk on for a smaller school. This means you probably won't get a scholarship for it, but you may still be able to do it. In college they use the gymnasts differently, most are no longer AA gymnasts but specialize in one or two events. So say you get really good at vault and can do an insane one and your bars are great but your beam and floor are not so good they may use you for vault and bars. Most of the big schools that give full scholarships take elites only. But there is still a good chance you can do gymnastics in college.