Parents Hair Bun advice

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

We do not use bobby pins. Instead we use a C needle and thread (fishing line or embroidery thread works well) and sew the bun in. This flattens it and secures. We never worry about it falling out. Works for us.
What an interesting idea! Do you sew it to the sock or just to the bun itself? I guess I'm wondering if it would work for a regular bun (no sock). I'm wondering what I would secure the thread to, both at the start and at the end of the sewing process.

I have one gymmie and one ballerina... As you can imagine, I have extensive bun making experience with my ballerina! She now does her own hair, but I have done hers for the past 9years and every now and then gymmie wants a bun or even better, two buns Leia style..!
The key to a good bun in fine hair (really in any hair) is bun pins.
http://www.allaboutdance.com/dance-...=Pins&search=true&SID=526211971&ageGroup=none
Thickness of hair dictates which size you get, ballerina dd has waist long, fine hair and we use the 2" size.
Make a ponytail, nice and tight (use whatever goop you want, it also helps if hair is damp)
Separate hair into two or three sections (two is normal but extremely thick or long hair might need three)