WAG Likes a certain beam??

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Gymnast-E

Coach
Gymnast
Ok so I am a assistant coach and for a few weeks one of the gymnasts I coach has been crying in the washroom when we go to beam. She never tells me but you can see like when someone has that look on their face that they were crying and she had that look. So I coach 3 or 5 other gymnasts (depending on the day) but they went on that beam after floor because they finished first say who I'm talking about is named Charlotte (not actually but I can't say her name). So Charlotte will take another beam and say she hurt her back and can't do backwakovers but once the beam is free (the other gymnasts finish) "Charlotte" goes right to the beam and starts doing backwalkovers even though she said her back hurts. I know that we have this beam but I don't want her to get too attached for when we go to comp. If it helps "Charlotte" is around 13 - 14 yrs old doing level 5

My daughter (13) has definitely shared that she has an "emotional support beam". I think it is the one Spieth beam in a gym full of AAI. She said she just feels more secure doing skills on it. However, she hasn't let it prevent her from doing skills on other beams. It's just a preference, and she will choose the one beam over the others if she can.

Yep, all the kids seem to have a favourite beam. But we do want to ensure they get out of this habit and use all the beams, otherwise competition can be very difficult because they need a beam that feels a certain way.

It can also cause training issues, if they will only use a particular beam and it isn’t available.

Once I saw her do the skill in her favourite beam, I’d be assured her back was okay and require her to do the skill on another beam.

You can find ways to make it fun. Set them a challenge to stick X of each skills in each high beam and those who do get to work a fun skill or something like that.