Other sports and gym

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Who else does other sports besides gym? I do martial arts and I'm fairly new to gym. I used to be a cheerleader but switched to gym to try something new. I love gym and martial arts has like been my life for a while now. I'm afraid that as I get more into gym I'm going to have to pick one or the other which is a decision I really don't want to have to make! Is anyone else juggling two sports and how do you do it?

Well, I'm only allowed to do 1 sport at a time, so I'm not really dealing with that problem, but if you are really wanting to get into competitive gymnastics and continue Martial Arts, I would definitely recommend seeing if your gym has an Xcel Team/Program. Xcel is great! (I do it and absolutely love it!)
You train a lot less hours than the usual competitive gymnast. It depends on what lv and how your gym is, but for example... last year I competed Xcel Silver and my gym only had me do 4 hrs a week, where if you choose to go the compulsory route my gym has the girls at that same lv practice anywhere from 6-9hrs a week. This summer I will be working on moving up to Xcel Gold, so I will be training 7hrs a week (still a couple hours less than the usual gymnast at that lv)
Another great benefit is all the routines are Optional, so they are choreographed to fit you, instead of having to do the exact same routine as everyone else your competing against. (There are certain skill requirements for the different levels though)
Also, if you are an older gymnast just starting out you would probably be in lv 3 or 4 and most likely the girls in that lv are going to be a lot younger than you, although it does depend on your gym or where your at. With Xcel there is a much wider age range in all the levels, which is nice so than you don't feel like your always competing against a bunch of younger kids.