Parents Question about excel competitions

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Amusibus

Proud Parent
Ok, I'm new at this and after another mom was voicing concerns to me about elite track girls attending the same competitions as JO and excel, I was wondering, is this true? Do they all attend the same meets and compete against each other even though one level 5 might be doing 8 hours a week and another level 5 might be doing 25 hours a week?

Yes, jo girls can compete xcel in their off season. Those girls who are hitting 9.8s are most likely those girls.

Sent from my SCH-R720 using ChalkBucket mobile app

I don't know where you are, but at DD's gym last year, some of the girls who had finished L5 competed XCel Gold (then called Prep-Op Intermediate), just because states was so early, and it gave them the opportunity to try new skills. However, they never had those girls compete against the regular prep/ops/xcel girls in the all-around. It's kind of like comparing apples to oranges.

I don't know where you are, but at DD's gym last year, some of the girls who had finished L5 competed XCel Gold (then called Prep-Op Intermediate), just because states was so early, and it gave them the opportunity to try new skills. However, they never had those girls compete against the regular prep/ops/xcel girls in the all-around. It's kind of like comparing apples to oranges.

Do you mean the meets they went to separated JO girls from Xcel girls? Or that your particular gym choose not to have both of your teams compete at the same meets? In our region, both JO based and Xcel girls compete against each other in Xcel meets. No separation based on how they train. but in our region (8) JO and Xcel competing together is more like comparing apples to apples

In our area, this is what I have observed: