Coaches Supporting Back Somersault Technique

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

SXS524

Coach
Gymnast
I'm currently working towards my level 2 women's artistic coaching qualification (UK) and one of the skills on the syllabus is back somersault. I'm fairly new to spotting these and was wondering what technique people used? My mentor taught me to support with one arm going round the gymnasts back and then the other arm going round to catch the gymnasts stomach (shown here at 12.14 How To Back Tuck - YouTube). I can see its a good way to make sure the gymnast doesn't fall at the end and doesn't require us coaches to swap hands to catch at the end. However I find it quite hard to give the gymnasts height supporting that way, not sure whether I just need more practice or whether it is quite difficult to do! I noticed my old coach (not my mentor) supports by having one hand on the gymnasts back and the other on the gymnasts thigh- this strikes me as easier but my mentor reckoned that wasn't as safe a way to spot?!
So just wonder what the general consensus was? Or does anyone else have any other techniques?

Additional note: I'm a 5ft2 female coach so its quite hard for me to just flip gymnasts over especially if they're not really tiny :p

I've spotted that way and also find it difficult to get the height. I spot hand on lower back and hand on thighs I'm able to keep my hand on the back throughout for safety. I'm the same way with size and I find it easier to spot this way.

You are talking about a back somersault in the air, correct?

1. You can have them jump off a panel mat or block.

2. I generally can spot these with a bump and catch where I catch their upper arm near the shoulder but I will also catch the second hand on the stomach as they pass through inversion.